Public review: Forest Management Districts 10, 11, 12 and 13, Five-Year Operating Plan (2011-2015)

Forest Management Districts 10, 11, 12 and 13, Five-Year Operating Plan (2011-2015)

Proponent: Department of Natural Resources                    (Reg.1550)

The passing of Bill 75 resulted in the expropriation and return to crown, timber lands associated with Forest Management Districts (FMDs) 10, 11, 12 and 13 previously vested to Abitibi-Bowater.  With the return of these timber lands to the crown, it was the Department of Natural Resources position that the management of these lands would be consistent with the strategies and philosophies in effect in all other crown managed districts in the province.  This plan which covers the period January 1, 2011 to December 31, 2015 reflects these changes and will replace the 2008-2012 plan previously prepared by Abitibi-Bowater for this area.  Planning Zone Five encompasses FMDs 10, 11, 12 and 13.

It is located in central Newfoundland and extends from Victoria Lake in the west to the Bay D’Espoir highway in the east and from Island Pond in the south to North and South Twin Lakes in the north.  Major towns located within the zone are Bishop’s Falls, Grand Falls-Windsor, Badger,

Millertown and Buchans.   Approximately 20,200 hectares with 2.45

million cubic metres of timber are scheduled to be harvested.

Harvesting activities will include pulpwood, sawlog, and fuelwood using chainsaws and mechanical harvesters.  Skidders may be used for some slope harvesting and chainsaws for domestic harvesting.  Approximately

193 kilometres of primary forest access roads will be constructed over the 5 year operating plan.

The undertaking was registered on January 4, 2011; public comments are due by February 11, 2011; and the minister’s decision is due by February 18, 2011.